Once upon a time a guy called Tim who, quite frankly, looks like Martin Freeman- and I’m sure I’ve used this beginning before- found out he could travel in time, so he made a complete hash of things (obviously not a trait we’ve seen before!) and then married the love of his life, saved his sister’s life, and changed his life so that he, er, actually had one. Cue sloppy music- hey, it’s a romcom after all!

Is it a feminist film? No, I don’t think so. I mean, the female characters are interesting- just as interesting as the male characters, in fact- but they’re not really at the centre of their story. Nor, really, should they be- I mean, it’s a romance, but one review described it a trifle aptly as “A love story between father and son”. And, at the centre of the story, that’s exactly what it is- Tim and his father have a very sweet relationship, what with that thing where they can both travel in time and the women in the family can’t (well, I mean, everyone’s got to have something to bond over, right?) Mary, Tim’s girlfriend/ wife/ victim of stalking is quite nice, I suppose- as nice as anyone would be who hasn’t yet realised that their husband has completely done them over and essentially tricked them into thinking said husband is anything other than a weirdo, in a parallel dimension. Anyway, I missed the first bit, so perhaps there were inordinate amounts of feminism shoved into those first ten minutes. One thing that kind of bugged me here was the fact that- although we should support and celebrate any woman who chooses to have children- this film kind of portrays it as the one and only thing that’s important to ALL women. Like that’s just it: find a man, get married, have a whole bunch of children! It’ll cure your drinking problem, just like that! A job- ha! Who needs it? Certainly not women. That’s a man thing. Leave it up to the men, dear.

Is it disturbing? Not much. I mean, there’s a car crash and an emotional death and whatever, but I don’t think you’ll have to hide under the stairs in terror.

And… does it pass the Bechdel test? Um, it might do, but probably not. Who knows?

Wow, a SHORT review! What a novelty that is in these days of instability, terror and crisis! And if you have no idea what I’m talking about- it doesn’t matter!